Security Officers and Personal Protection Officers are required by the State of Texas to submit training certifications, an application, and required fees. There are three levels of basic security certifications, Non-Commissioned (Level 2), Commissioned (Level 3), and Personal Protection (Level 4).
You can renew a registration online 90 days before the expiration date, and up to 1 year after expiration (late fees will be applied if registration is expired).
Just like the non-commissioned security officer renewal, within the 90 days of expiration and up to 1 year. In order to renew, Commission Security Officers must submit a firearm proficiency certificate that is no more than 90 days old.
Yes. Applicants are encouraged to review the eligibility criteria in Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1702 of the Private Security Act and Board Administrative Rules.These publications are on the DPS Private Security website located in this link Statutes and Rules.